Homemade Granola

Store bought granola is loaded with hidden sugars and saturated fats. I always make my own because I like knowing exactly what I’m putting into my body, plus seeing 25 grams of sugar per cup on the label made my heart skip a beat. Granola is supposed to be something healthy and satisfying, not the same calorie and sugar content of a brownie sundae. So with that being said, if you want to eat healthy, make everything yourself. You’ll know every ingredient you put into it and there’s no unwanted calories. Here’s my recipe!

DRY INGREDIENTS:

4 cups of old fashioned oats

1 cup of wheat germ

1 1/2 cups of shredded unsweetened coconut

1 cup slivered almonds

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 whole lemon, zested

pinch of salt

WET INGREDIENTS:

3/4 vegetable oil

1/2 cup agave nectar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Heat oven to 300.

Toss all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

Whisk the wet ingredients together and then mix into the dry ingredients with a wooden spoon or spatula.

Pour granola onto a non-stick baking sheet and bake for 35-45 minutes, until golden brown. I recommend checking on it every 10 minutes and fluffing the granola with a fork to make sure it gets evenly browned.

After the granola has cooled down a bit, I add in some dried cranberries and dried figs for color and texture. Combined, it’s probably about a 1/4 of a cup of dried fruit. I chop it all very small so that it blends in well with the rest of the ingredients.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

