Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

I was feeling adventerous the other day and decided to give myself a shot at making stuffed bell peppers. I knew that I wanted to use quinoa instead of rice and extra lean ground turkey instead of beef. Trying to make this dish as healthy as possible was my ultimate goal.. While of course still being full of flavor!

Thank you, Google, for this great recipe suggestion…..

http://www.food.com/recipe/healthy-quinoa-and-ground-turkey-stuffed-peppers-449167

*I used smoked Gouda instead of Parmesan or Asiago

*I had the quinoa already cooked, which saved me some extra time!

 

*Bell peppers are packed with more vitamin C than an orange, while also being extremely low in calories. They contain many antioxidants, vitamin B6, folic acid, a decent amount of fiber and carotene. Red bell peppers contain lycopene, which helps protect against cancer and heart disease. 

Leave a Reply

